I try to visit my grandmother as much as possible abroad. She lives in France, and with my mother’s job as a flight attendant, I am lucky to be able to visit her often. Grandma Beaumier was not a leg on this trip but many trips visiting her helped me notice how airlines take so much attention to dietary differences according to country of destination. There were two meal options presented on the plane: Japanese or Western- that’s exactly how they asked me. I learned that a lot of my experience in Indonesia would be shaped by the answer to that question. From the food etiquette to societal norms, people clearly differentiated between both. There was no in between line. Or it seemed like it. We’ll talk about this later…

Leave a Reply

